The Navagraha placement for the Nine planets- How are the 9 planets postioned in a temple

Navagraha Pratishta

Navagraha Pratishta

Navagraha placement in various temples and their importance

In the Hindu Mythology, the Navagrahas have an exalted position in a persons life as they exert a great influence and it is said that the proper worship of these 9 planets can greatly tone down their malefic influence and thus grant peace and prosperity in a persons life. The entire place where the Navagraha is installed in a temple is a black granite stand  and the Navagrahas are also black granite with the facial features not so well formed, but they are well decorated with the most favored colored cloth of the particular planet. entire pedestal that they are placed on has small channels that lead the water, milk, curd, yoghurt and oil abhisheka that the idols are regularly done to a  clean place. The oil from the shani oil abhishek is collected to light the lamps in the temple. So on and so forth.

Get Adobe Flash player

As per Hindu customs, the Navagraha are typically placed in a single square with the Sun (Surya) in the center and the other deities surrounding Surya; no two of them are made to face each other. In South India, their images are generally found in all important Saiva temples. They are invariably placed in a separate hall, on a pedestal of about three feet in height, usually to the north-east of the sanctum sanctorum.

There are 2 kinds of installation of the planets when arranged in this fashion, known as Agama Pradishta and Vaidika Pradishta.


In Agama Pradishta, Surya occupies the central place, Chandra on Surya’s east, Budha on his south, Brihaspati on his west, Shukra on his north, Mangala on his south-east, Shani on his south-west, Rahu on north-west and Ketu in the north-east. Temples such as Suryanar temple, Tiruvidadaimarudur, Tiruvaiyaru and Tirucchirappalli follow this system.

navagraha in a temple

navagraha in a temple

In Vaidika Pradishta, Surya is still in the centre, but Shukra is in the east, Mangala in the south, Shani in the west, Brihaspati in the north, Chandra in the south-east, Rahu in the south-west, Ketu in the north-west and Budha in the north-east.

Other temples install the Navagrahas in other arrangements.

In Ramanathapuram district, in a place called Navapashana, nine stone slabs are worshipped as the

Navapasha installed by Lord Rama at Devipattinam near Ramanathapuram

Navapasha installed by Lord Rama at Devipattinam near Ramanathapuram

Navagraha. The Gangaikonda Cholapuram temple boasts a unique structure wherein the nine grahas are installed in a single stone. Surya is prominently displayed in this structure with seven horses in a chariot with two wheels and a charioteer. The other eight grahas are placed in eight directions with the sun in the centre.

Buy your Navagraha Deepam here

Buy here at

The different grahas have different preferences: Namely;

Surya- Sun: Wheat for daan, Red colour, center facing East

Chandra- Moon: Rice for daan, White colour, South east facing of Sun

Guru-Jupiter: Indian Yellow Split Peas(Kabuli chana), Yellow color, Facing North

Budh- Mercury:  Green Gram, Green Color, facing North East

Shukra-Venus: Soya Gram, white color, facing East

Mangal-Mars: Bengal Gram, Red color, facing South

Shani-Saturn: Mustard Seeds, blue color, facing West

Rahu- North Node: Black gram, Black color, facing South West

Kethu-South Node: Horse gram, Multi color, facing North West

Read here about what more do give in charity to appease the planets


Leave a Reply